(a very expensive)

Visit to the Sea

IMG_5105 (1024x677).jpg
Sketch made on the way home on the ferry 5×8

Only one thing slightly marred

A trip to Martha’s Vineyard

 

This visit to the sea-

 

There was no one there,

No one to really care,

No one to hold my hand-

Painting at the edge of sand-

 

I lost control of me

 

For spirits high and running fast

I joined another bather in a painting by Potthast

But real waves lifted, slapped me down

My glasses now, will never-more be found

 

-Reality —

  

Driving home with that companion

His silence in rebuke now makes me stir,

“How could you go in with your glasses still on!”

And, My world’s reduced, to a water-color blur

 

Begging to be free-

IMG_5222 (1024x768).jpg
w/c #3  11 1/2X15 hot-press

Breaking waves are hard to paint! I think I’ll be working on this motif for quite some time.

Holly (Angel in the dust)

5 thoughts on “Magic Moments-by the Sea

  1. Oh no! I am sorry to hear that wave was so badly behaved. I go into the ocean with my glasses on, too. Otherwise, I wouldn’t be able to see much of anything. I hope you have a new pair by now. I tried to paint the surf this year but failed miserably; I think it was because I was too distracted to concentrate properly. There is so much to pay attention to!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

