Rooted

 

img_2933-1024x768

I’m rooted in my past

The third but not the last

Two older siblings

Rivalry took wings

 

The runt could best

Or certainly could cheat

Her little sister in the game.

Yet to achieve the same

 

With the bigger, older one

Required something much more fun.

A hard-core stubbornness was born

And gradually became the norm

 

I’d play the game and not give up

Embellish, shine, and strut.

It didn’t matter she was smart

I had her walloped from the start

 

As for that brother-He could annoy-

Until I beat him fair like any boy.

The point is- I’m a stubborn lass

Persistence is rooted in my past

 

We grow and change, we learn

Perhaps we lean a bit-

But roots stay anchored firm

Unless the whole is hit

 

Holly 170719 (Angel in the dust)

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

