Grant me the serenity

To accept that which I can not change

The courage to change those things I can

And the wisdom to know the difference

IMG_3426 (1024x768).jpg

Although landscape painting seems beyond me just now I have been able to do a little figure drawing and it has kept me sane. Here are a few done in watercolor on Bristol  vellum set vertically on the easel which makes it all rather challenging but fun.IMG_3423 (1024x768).jpg

There is that important idea “fun”, a reason to smile, something to reach for. As i work at figures in watercolor i find myself seeing more and more in blocks or areas of tone and value. Edges and lines become less important to understanding the form. It’s rather exciting.

IMG_3421 (1024x768).jpgOf course, sometimes certain details of the model freak me out and i resort to line big time. and sometimes line just seems best-IMG_3424 (1024x768)This one might just get a watercolor wash- nothing more.

IMG_3427 (1024x768)

IMG_3430 (768x1024)

Life throws us curved balls sometimes, fly balls lost in the glare of the sun or balls so fast they slam into us with devastating impact but whatever happens we still have to find and touch base. I am grateful for the practice of meditation through yoga that a good friend once introduced me to.

And, I am grateful for the ongoing support of the wonderful artists I’ve met through this blog (and before) who keep coming up with encouraging ideas and experiences of their own to share. Thank you. You are fun to know.

Angel standing by

yh

4 thoughts on “Magic Moments-without expectation

    1. Carol, you seem rock solid real. i am so glad to follow your blog and see your awesome progress. if you think i exaggerate go back and compare your earlier work with what you are doing now, its fun to watch your painting unfold. Thanks for sharing your work.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I like to think I am rock solid real as it is my goal – life is too short to play games and leave words unsaid – especially kind words 🙂 No time for phoniness!!! I really should go back and look and keep meaning to. Hopefully that means I will be rocking it by next year, right? 😁 Here’s to a spectacular new week!! 🍷🍷

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

