i have now painted the ocean picture “Equilibrium” 6 times and i still am not getting it right. so i shall post this little Requiem to a goldfish-he died today and finish with a poem by Rumi which describes me rather accurately. I’ll squirrel my own writing out of the way. Some day i may toss it out to sea in a glass bottle.

Here is a picture of the little fellow:

IMG_3082 (1024x976) (2).jpg

If you do not know me, ask the dark night

She is the witness of my lonely tears and laments

She is the keeper of my secrets.

I have become patient as a mountain, humble like dust.

My sorrows like a fence of thorns surround my garden

but once you go beyond them you will praise

its flowing springs and fragrant roses.

Praise the beloved who blessed the garden with new life.

A peaceful weaver cannot appreciate the art of war

the mind cannot feel the sweetness of the lover’s pain

that sweet pain of melting like a grain of salt

in the sea of love.

But I will not waste my words on tired minds

I only talk to those who are thirsty for the sea.

 

Rumi

Angel in the dust

“Rumi’s little Book of Life”

Translated by

Maryam mafi and Azima Melita Kolin

 

3 thoughts on “Magic Moments- adrift

Leave a Reply

