When down is up:

IMG_3037 (1024x768).jpg

I think my friends learn to accept my idiosyncrasies such as today when I lay down on the stiffly frozen grass to photograph the ice and then just stayed there admiring the trees. Actually the grass was comfortable. It worked like coiled bed springs trapping air so the ground did not feel a bit cold even though the air temperature was barely above the single digits Fahrenheit.

IMG_3018 (768x1024)

 

We stayed for quite a long time listening to the ice which besides reflecting the trees in its usual beautiful milky way was also “talking”; it chortled and burped and gurgled. Once it even gave off a series of explosions sounding like a fourth of July fireworks. I suppose it was expanding and responding to the warmth as the sun gradually rose above the trees. But, I don’t really know. My friend said it sounded like the mud baths at Yellowstone National Park.

 

IMG_3026 (1024x768).jpg
Supine view

Often when I experience something beautiful or fascinating I am aware of a deep loss. Only today an idea clicked: in my sensation of loss the one missing becomes present and is, for that moment, here with me, a comforting feeling. And so “up” gets very soft and full of memories:

IMG_3008 (768x1024).jpg

Home from our walk i worked on painting number two of the ocean, then headed into class where I sketched people at yoga practice-a great place to do figure drawing if you keep it simple and quick. The challenge for this week is to sketch or draw a 100 people by the end of the week.

 

Hope your day went well too.

Angel in the dust

7 thoughts on “Magic Moments-at Home

  1. We saw the Hubbard Glacier in Alaska, and it made so many interesting noises I thought it would come to life at any moment! What a pleasure to relax and simply “be” with nature. I am glad your sense of loss was a little less today. *hugs*

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

