He leaned in and whispered as he turned the page
And he said, “Make yourself into a flame”
A crazy old lion with his hair all backlit
Grinnin’ like a little boy who has a secret

And I do not know its name
Though it’s ever entwining
And I believe it must look
Like an old man shining

We were eatin’ summer peaches
By a roadside stand
Juice running down like laughter
On our chin and on our hands

When we were done, we looked around
And smiled at each other
And you said
“Come on, Carrie, let’s have another”

And I do not know its name
No matter how I try
But I believe that it must taste
Like peaches eaten by the roadside

He drove a rental car shuttle
To the airports on Sundays
We chatted that gray morning
‘Bout the choir he sang with, Wednesdays

He sang a haunting gospel hymn
Shameless and clear
With only me, a wandering stranger
Sitting there to hear

And I do not know its name
Elusive and subtle
But I believe it must sound
Like that man singing in the shuttle

Standing in the river, barefoot in the current
I hear the sound of a bird call and I try to learn it
The water is a wonder, it’s cold and fast and deep
I saw the fish go swimming out too far for me to reach

And I do not know its name
Swimmer or watcher
But I believe that there is always something
Moving beneath the water

If holy is a sphere
That cannot be rendered
There is no middle place
Because all of it is center

I do not know its name

I do not know its name

I do not know its name

Carrie Newcomer-“I do Not Know it’s name”

Here are some terrible drawings but the best i can do.They should certainly make the more talented feel glad and that’s OK; I’m gaining stability day by day which is my goal. (these were all done from my car-a fun way to sketch in the winter)

img_2296-1024x764
pencil and w/c
img_2732-763x1024
drawn directly with watercolor

Broken relationships tear us from God.

Please do not leave me in the dark.

img_2471-1024x768
drawn with fiber pen
img_2302-1024x768
pencil w/ w/c wash begun

I am your friend

Always.

practicing Y.E.S.

                        Angel in the dust

4 thoughts on “Magic Moments-in song and prayer and friendship

  1. Dear Tim,
    I’m glad you stopped by. These sketches, of course were done from my car. At home I work standing up at my desk and primarily from previous on-location sketches. I rarely use a photo and often work from inside my head. When i’m out I spend a lot of time and energy just looking carefully. One can never see enough.

    Like

Leave a Reply

