Last night I finally got myself back to a figure drawing session. This is the watercolor sketch which came out of the evening.

IMG_2163 (727x1024).jpg

 

Sessions usually consist of 10 very dynamic 2 minute poses followed by several 5 minute poses and 10 minute poses and ending with a long pose which the model will hold for 2 or possibly 3 20 minute sessions. I usually work in charcoal or pencil for the short poses concentrating on various aspects of the pose or parts of the model and then switch to watercolor for the long pose. Sometimes I work directly in pen (sharpie) when I am feeling confident. This time I was struggling just to be there and draw at all so I am pleased to have done this much. I always work large this one is 18”x24”. The paper is 100 lb Bristol –very unforgiving worked vertically on an easel so one can not really use washes or flood the paper. got back rather late so-

No watercolor today but I did do a bit of work in the ceramics studio between my walk and a visit to the doctors. I need to do the mares tails clouds I saw this morning. Images like this sit on my mind and literally keep me awake-how can I get them to happen in watercolor?

Angel in the dust

(and yes, last nights model really is this “well endowed”)

Leave a Reply

