IMG_2053 (1024x768).jpg

I would never have dreamt of going to a reunion let alone a High School one, however, when this 50th plus 1 year reunion came up on the same day and in the same town for which I had already made plans to visit my Mother I decided to chance going to it.

I traveled alone and after a good visit with my Mother attended the gathering.

I went, of course, with my owm in spirit at least, and had a wonderful time for I listened more than talked, stuck to water and ice for refreshment, and focused primarily on getting to know the women.

My classmates and I (at least those who came) are a pretty neat group of  interesting people. I hope many of them will take the time, as I will, to reach out and affirm the connections we made or remade this afternoon. As we shared stories I did discover that staying married for almost 50 years made one decidedly unusual although I assured others that one could view that achievement as problematical even if highly honorable.

On the long drive home I had the pleasure of listening to a lovely harp concerto by Ditterdorf and the tone poem The Moldau  (‘Vltava” in Czech) from Smetanas series Ma Vlast thanks to the superb sound system my loving husband got with the car he chose for me. And I gave thanks to mp for helping me learn the value of spending quality time in connection with other people especially with my mother. And, most importantly, I drove very attentively.

IMG_2045 (765x1024).jpg

Angel in the dust

PS i am working on w/c sketches of guess what-ROADS! the ones in the country are lovely.

One thought on “Magic Moments-come with connection

  1. Glad you enjoyed the reunion and visit with your mother. I was in a graduating class of 600 and going to a reunion seems quite daunting. I like your advice of listening more than talking. Can’t wait to see the country roads in watercolor, Holly. Happy Sunday!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

