No paintings to post-at least not yet.

My job is to keep the faith and keep working. At some point the parts will coalesce to make a beautiful whole. First each brushstroke must carry the right amount of pigment and water and be placed confidently on the paper at the right moment working wet into wet or almost wet or dry against wet or… there are so many variations. I really like to work to music because it allows me to be less mindful and freer with my brush strokes. And yet at times it is essential to slow down and be very careful and deliberate or to stop altogether which is why I am typing at the computer right now. I shall have to learn to run more than one painting at a time and then I will be able to pace the work better. It also pays to be very cavalier about the results and not let them matter at all except as a learning experience. Sometimes I feel very discouraged; then I look up at my painting of a flicker looking down at me and I feel better.

 

Yesterday enjoyed making 5 little pen and ink thumbnail sketches while listening to excerpts from the work of Smetana in our Tuesday afternoon lecture. They’re for some paintings of roads which I have in mind. I really would like to ditch what I’m working on right now and go to work on them and I may. The fall colors will open up a whole new and much brighter pallet. And, boy am I ready for that! I am so tired of grey!

And, really it would be so easy to forget about working, to just go for walks in this beautiful fall weather, and simply dream about painting. Unfortunately doing that won’t make it come together. Nor will pretending that it just doesn’t matter. Work and withstand rejection and try again are what one must do. At some point the “ink will sing”.

 

Now I am off to join a group on a trip to Sheffield to buy ceramic supplies. Sometimes I think one might view my renewed interest in ceramics as cross training but then I realize it is really one more way in which I am hiding from what really matters. I need to paint only life is too complicated.

Leave a Reply

